Air Force Personnel Center   Right Corner Banner
Join the Air Force

Library > Fact Sheets > Non-Article 5 NATO Medal - International Security Assistance Force (Afghanistan)


Posted 8/4/2010 Printable Fact Sheet

The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) has approved a Non-Article 5 NATO medal for personnel participating in NATO support operation International Security Assistance Force (ISAF) in Afghanistan. The Deputy Secretary of Defense has authorized the acceptance and wear of this medal by U.S. military and civilian members.

Personnel eligible for this award are those member of units or staffs as set out in the Joint Operations Area (JOA) Combined Joint Statement of Requirements taking part in NATO operations in Afghanistan in accordance with the qualifying conditions. Entitlement will be acquired by those forces under NATO command or control while in the JOA, and those deployed to the JOA under national command in support of the NATO operation.

The Afghanistan JOA is defined as the political boundaries and airspace of Afghanistan, according to ISAF operational plans.

The period of qualifying service in the Afghanistan JOA is thirty (30) days continuous or accumulated service from June 1, 2003 to a termination date to be determined. Aircrew members will accumulate one day's service for the first sortie flown of any day; additional sorties flown on the same day receive no further credit. This requirement exists for support as well as combat aircraft; support aircraft includes tanker, airlift and surveillance platforms.

To recognize subsequent awards (if approved by the Secretary of Defense) for service in a different NATO operation, U.S. service members will affix a bronze service star to the NATO Medal suspension medal and ribbon.

Authorized device: Clasp; but not worn on the Air Force uniform.

Weighted Airman Promoted System Point Value: 0

 Inside AFPC

ima cornerSearch

ima corner


Site Map      Contact Us     Questions     Security and Privacy notice     E-publishing  
Suicide Prevention    SAPR   IG   EEO   Accessibility/Section 508   No FEAR Act