Air Force Personnel Center   Right Corner Banner
Join the Air Force

Library > Fact Sheets > Southwest Asia Service Medal


Posted 8/5/2010 Printable Fact Sheet
Previous ImageNext Image
Air Force medals
Southwest Asia Service Medal. (Photo by Mr. Steve White)
Download HiRes

This award, authorized by Executive Order 12754, March 12, 1991, is awarded to members of the U.S. armed forces who served in support of Operations Desert Shield or Desert Storm between Aug. 2, 1990 and Nov. 30, 1995 in one or more of the following areas: Persian Gulf, Red Sea, Gulf of Oman, Gulf of Aden, that portion of the Arabian Sea that lies north of 10 degrees north latitude and west of 68 degrees east longitude, and the land areas of Iraq, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Bahrain, Qatar and the United Arab Emirates; or individuals serving in Egypt, Israel, Turkey, Syria and Jordan (including territorial airspace and waters) directly supporting combat operations between Jan. 17, 1991 and Nov. 30, 1995.

Refer to DoD 1348.33-M for specific individual eligibility requirements. This award came with three distinct campaign periods:
  • Defense of Saudi Arabia, 2 August 1990 - 16 January 1991
  • Liberation and Defense of Kuwait, 17 January 1991 - 11 April 1991, and
  • Southwest Asia Cease Fire Campaign, 12 April 1991 to 30 November 1995.
  • A bronze service star is worn for participation in each respective campaign period.
Authorized Device: Service Star

Weighted Airman Promoted System Point Value: 0

 Inside AFPC

ima cornerSearch

ima cornerSpecial Topics


Site Map      Contact Us     Questions     Security and Privacy notice     E-publishing  
Suicide Prevention    SAPR   IG   EEO   Accessibility/Section 508   No FEAR Act