Air Force Personnel Center   Right Corner Banner
Join the Air Force

Library > Fact Sheets > Korean Defense Service Medal


Posted 8/4/2010 Printable Fact Sheet
Previous ImageNext Image
Air Force medals
Korea Defense Service Medal. (Photo by Mr. Steve White)
Download HiRes

The Department of Defense approved the Korean Defense Service Medal (KDSM) in February 2004 to be given as recognition for military service in the Republic of Korea and the surrounding waters after 28 July 1954 and ending on such a future date as determined by the Secretary of Defense.

Individuals must have been assigned, attached, or mobilized to units operating or serving on all the land area of the Republic of Korea, and the contiguous waters out to 12 nautical miles, and all airspace above the stated land and water areas. To be eligible for the KDSM, personnel must have been physically present in the stated areas for 30 consecutive or 60 nonconsecutive days, or must meet one of the following:
  • Be engaged in actual combat during an armed engagement, regardless of the time in the areas of eligibility
  • Be killed, wounded, or injured in the line of duty and required medical evacuation from the area of eligibility
  • While participating as a regularly assigned aircrew member flying sorties into, out of, within, or over the area of eligibility in support of military operations. Each day that one or more sorties are flown in accordance with these criteria shall count as 1 day toward the 30 or 60 day requirement.
Medal Description
The KDSM shall be positioned above the Armed Forces Service Medal. Only one award of the KDSM is authorized for any individual, regardless of the number of days over 30 (or 60), tours, TDYs, or deployments served in the areas of eligibility.

Authorized Device

Weighted Airman Promoted System Point Value: 0

 Inside AFPC

ima cornerSearch

ima cornerSpecial Topics


Site Map      Contact Us     Questions     Security and Privacy notice     E-publishing  
Suicide Prevention    SAPR   IG   EEO   Accessibility/Section 508   No FEAR Act