Air Force Personnel Center   Right Corner Banner
Join the Air Force

News > Officials announce O’Malley Award winners
Officials announce O’Malley Award winners

Posted 6/16/2010   Updated 6/16/2010 Email story   Print story


Air Force Personnel Center Public Affairs Office

6/16/2010 - RANDOLPH AIR FORCE BASE, Texas  -- Two Airmen from Elmendorf Air Force Base, Alaska, are the recipients of the 2010 General and Mrs. Jerome F. O'Malley Award.

Officials announced Col. Thomas and Lt. Col. Pamela Bergeson as the winners of the award that recognizes the wing commander and spouse team whose contributions to the nation, Air Force and local community best exemplify the highest ideals and positive leadership of a military couple serving in a key Air Force position. Colonel Bergeson is the commander of the 3rd Wing at Elmendorf, where his wife is assigned to the Air Force Reserve.

Together, the Bergesons' contributions were critical in leading more than 6,000 Airmen who flew 11,000 accident free sorties; intercepting 11 Russian bombers with active duty and Reserve pilots flying F-22s; dropping 16,000 Army paratroopers from active duty and Guard C-17s; deploying 2,262 Airmen in support of operations around the world; treating 238,000 patients; earning an excellent ORI rating; and winning 155 Air Force and major command level awards.

The Air Force chief of staff will present the award at a presentation ceremony Sept. 22 at the Pentagon.

For more information on this and other Air Force recognition programs, visit the Air Force Personnel Center personnel services website or call the Air Force's 24/7 Total Force Service Center toll-free at (800) 525-0102.

No comments yet.  
Add a comment

 Inside AFPC

ima cornerSearch

Site Map      Contact Us     Questions     Security and Privacy notice     E-publishing  
Suicide Prevention    SAPR   IG   EEO   Accessibility/Section 508   No FEAR Act