HomeAboutFact Sheets

Fact Sheet Search

Fact Sheet Alphabetical List

  • Joint Meritorious Unit Award

    BACKGROUNDAuthorized by the Secretary of Defense on June 10, 1981, this award was originally called the Department of Defense Meritorious Unit Award. It is awarded in the name of the Secretary of Defense to joint activities for meritorious achievement or service, superior to that which is normally expected, for actions in the following situations;
  • Joint Service Achievement Medal

    BACKGROUNDEstablished on Aug. 3, 1983, this award was established by and is awarded in the name of the Secretary of Defense for either outstanding achievement or meritorious service and takes precedence before the achievement medals of the military services. It may not be awarded for any act or period of service which an Achievement Medal of a
  • Joint Service Commendation Medal

    BACKGROUNDThis decoration, established by the Department of Defense on June 25, 1963, is awarded by the office of the Secretary of Defense, the Joint Chiefs of Staff, and other Department of Defense agencies or joint activities reporting through the Joint Chiefs of Staff. Any member of the Armed Forces who distinguishes himself by meritorious

Air Force Fact Sheet Library

Decorations and Ribbons

  The appearance of external links on this site does not constitute official endorsement on behalf of the U.S. Air Force or Department of Defense.