Article Search

RSS Feed


AF announces 2016 Larry O. Spencer Innovation Award recipients

  • Published
  • By Staff Sgt. Alexx Pons
  • Air Force Personnel Center Public Affairs
Air Force officials have announced the recipients of the 2016 General Larry O. Spencer Innovation Awards.


This Air Force-level award recognizes an individual or team whose actions demonstrate innovation in cost and manpower savings to improve efficiency, operational readiness and replication of the innovation across the Air Force enterprise.


Winners are:


Individual: Master Sgt. Andrew J. Kehl, 52nd Civil Engineer Squadron, Spangdahlem Air Base, Germany. Kehl led multiple cost-saving initiatives and process improvement events with Air Force-wide impact, including an asset management plan which saved $61 million dollars. Kehl also implemented an application programming interface submission which standardized Air Force vehicle training and saved 57,000 annual man hours.


Team: The Logistics Information Technology Innovation Team, Headquarters Air Force Logistics, Engineering and Force Protection, Pentagon. The team spearheaded the consolidation of 357 Log I.T. systems, which provided a cost avoidance of $330 million over the future year’s defense program. The team also identified 159 highest-risk systems, revised processes/standard work and eliminated $205 million in duplicative system costs.


Additional information about the award can be found on myPers. Select “any” from the dropdown menu and search “Spencer.”


For more information about Air Force personnel programs, go to myPers. Individuals who do not have a myPers account can request one by following these instructions.


The appearance of external links on this site does not constitute official endorsement on behalf of the U.S. Air Force or Department of Defense.