Article Search

RSS Feed


AF announces selection of 2018 AFROTC detachment commanders

  • Published
  • By Kat Bailey
  • Air Force’s Personnel Center Public Affairs
The Air Force has selected 16 active and three Reserve officers as Air Force Reserve Officer Training Corps detachment commanders to fill requirements at universities across the nation starting in summer 2018.


A selection board held in September reviewed 60 applications from lieutenant colonels and majors selected for promotion to lieutenant colonel who were interested in this highly sought-after command opportunity.   


“For many students, ROTC detachment commanders are the first military leaders they meet,” said Sundy Muniz, ROTC assignments chief. “They have a significant influence on our future officer corps so it’s critical that committed, focused leaders command these detachments to develop exceptional leaders to lead the world’s most powerful teams.”


Selected officers, listed alphabetically by last name, with current major command and future AFROTC assignment:

Lt. Col. Michael Bailey, Defense Media Activity, Detachment 5, Auburn University

Lt. Col. Ryan Bird, Air Education and Training Command, Detachment 470, University of Nebraska - Omaha

Lt. Col. Jack Blalock, Air Force Materiel Command, Detachment 840, Texas State University

Lt. Col. Sandra Bonney, Air Combat Command, Detachment 835, University of North Texas

Lt. Col. Jeffrey Bosque, Air Force Global Strike Command, Detachment 175, University of Hawaii

Lt. Col. Kathleen Buss, Defense Intelligence Agency, Detachment 290, University of Kentucky

Lt. Col. Nicole Capozzi, ACC, Detachment 255, University of Iowa

Lt. Col. Cory Christoffer, AETC, Detachment 845, Texas Christian University

Lt. Col. David Garon, Air Mobility Command, Detachment 620, Bowling Green University

Lt. Col. Donald Land, Air Force Space Command, Detachment 592, University of North Carolina – Charlotte

Lt. Col. Roosevelt Loveless, Jr., AMC, Detachment 772, Charleston Southern University

Lt. Col. Nicole Phelan, Special Operations Command, Europe, Detachment 280, University of Kansas

Lt. Col. Robert Phelps, AFGSC, Detachment 475, University of New Hampshire

Lt. Col. Andrew Robinson, AETC, Detachment 150, University of Florida

Lt. Col. Michael Rue, Allied Air Command, Detachment 685, Oregon State University

Lt. Col. Robert Schabron, Air Force Element - Joint Chiefs of Staff, Detachment 1, University of Alaska

Lt. Col. Harley Thompson, United States Air Forces in Europe, Detachment 785, University of Memphis

Lt. Col. Trent Williams, U.S. Army Command and General Staff College, Detachment 520, Cornell University

Lt. Col. Wendy Woodard, Air Force Reserve Command, Detachment 505, New Mexico State University


Prior to posting the list, the Air Force’s Personnel Center provided senior raters with at least a week’s advanced knowledge of their officers’ selection to allow notification through the chain of command.

For more information about Air Force personnel programs, go to myPers from a CAC-enabled computer. Eligible individuals who do not have a myPers account can request one by following these instructions.


The appearance of external links on this site does not constitute official endorsement on behalf of the U.S. Air Force or Department of Defense.