Article Search

RSS Feed


Air Force announces the 12 Outstanding Airmen for 2022

  • Published
  • By Staff Sgt. Kiana Pearson
  • Air Force’s Personnel Center Public Affairs

Air Force officials have selected the service’s top enlisted members, naming the 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year for 2022.

An Air Force selection board at the Air Force’s Personnel Center considered 36 nominees who represented major commands, direct reporting units, field operating agencies and Headquarters Air Force. The board selected the 12 Airmen based on superior leadership, job performance and personal achievements.

Twelve Outstanding Airmen of the Year (alphabetically, by command of assignment when selected):

Technical Sergeant Brandon S. Blake, Air Force Special Operations Command
Senior Airman Demarion N. Davis, USAFE-AFAFRICA
Senior Airman Monica A. Figueroa Santos, Air Force Global Strike Command
Senior Master Sergeant Kade N. Forrester, Air Force District of Washington
Senior Master Sergeant Megan A. Harper, Air Combat Command
Technical Sergeant Brianne E. Kelleher, Air Force Reserve Command
Technical Sergeant Alexander W. Messinger,  Air Education and Training Command
Senior Airman Steven C. Peters, Air Mobility Command
Senior Airman Kristina L. Schneider, Air National Guard
Airman First Class Caden A. Soper, Pacific Air Forces
Senior Airman Christopher T. Thao,  Air Force Materiel Command - Airman supporting Space Force
Technical Sergeant Jennifer G. Thomas,  Air Force Materiel Command - Air Force

The winners are authorized to wear the Outstanding Airman of the Year Ribbon with the bronze service star device on the ribbon. They are also authorized to wear the Outstanding Airman of the Year badge for one year from the date of formal presentation.

The MAJCOM nominee list is available on myPers > Recognition >Special Trophies and Awards or select the active-duty enlisted category from the dropdown menu and search “12 OAY.”


The appearance of external links on this site does not constitute official endorsement on behalf of the U.S. Air Force or Department of Defense.