Article Search

RSS Feed


Nominations open for 2015 Fisher humanitarian award

  • Published
  • By Janis El Shabazz
  • Air Force Personnel Center Public Affairs
Air Force officials are accepting nominees for the 2015 Zachary and Elizabeth Fisher Distinguished Civilian Humanitarian Award.

Established in 1996 by the Secretaries of the Army, Navy and Air Force, the award is named in honor of Zachary and Elizabeth Fisher, both of whom contributed extensively to the support and welfare of U.S. military members and their families, Air Force Personnel Center officials said.

The annual award is presented to an individual or organization outside the Department of Defense that has demonstrated exceptional patriotism and humanitarian concerns for members of the military or their families.

Organizations and base-level personnel must contact their major command, field operating agency or direct reporting unit for applicable suspense dates and additional information regarding nomination procedures. 

Each MAJCOM, FOA or DRU may submit one nomination.  Completed nomination packages are due to AFPC by March 19.

For more information on Air Force recognition programs and other personnel issues, visit the myPers Website at

The appearance of external links on this site does not constitute official endorsement on behalf of the U.S. Air Force or Department of Defense.