An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Southwest Asia Service Medal


This award, authorized by Executive Order 12754, March 12, 1991, is awarded to members of the U.S. armed forces who served in support of Operations Desert Shield or Desert Storm between Aug. 2, 1990 and Nov. 30, 1995 in one or more of the following areas: Persian Gulf, Red Sea, Gulf of Oman, Gulf of Aden, that portion of the Arabian Sea that lies north of 10 degrees north latitude and west of 68 degrees east longitude, and the land areas of Iraq, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Bahrain, Qatar and the United Arab Emirates; or individuals serving in Egypt, Israel, Turkey, Syria and Jordan (including territorial airspace and waters) directly supporting combat operations between Jan. 17, 1991 and Nov. 30, 1995.



Refer to Department of Defense 1348.33-M for specific individual eligibility requirements.


This award came with three distinct campaign periods:


-Defense of Saudi Arabia, Aug. 2, 1990 – Jan. 16, 1991

-Liberation and Defense of Kuwait, Jan. 17, 1991 - April 11, 1991, and

-Southwest Asia Cease Fire Campaign, April 12, 1991 to Nov. 30, 1995.


A bronze service star is worn for participation in each respective campaign period.



Service Star




The appearance of external links on this site does not constitute official endorsement on behalf of the U.S. Air Force or Department of Defense.