The Article 5 NATO Medal (Operation Eagle Assist)


The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) Medal for Operation Eagle Assist was approved by the North Atlantic Council for members who participated in NATO's operation in the airspace of North America, following the attack on the United States on 11 September 2001, providing NATO assistance to the United States and demonstrating the Alliance's resolve against terrorism.  The operation began on 12 October 2001 and was completed on 16 May 2002.  The Deputy Secretary of Defense approved the acceptance and wear of the medal for US military and US civilian personnel.



Eligible personnel are those individuals who were in NATO Airborne Early Warning and Control aircraft deployed to the Area of Operation (USA and the airspace of North America as tasked by NORAD).  The qualifying period in the Area of Operation is thirty (30) days continuous or accumulated service between the dates of 12 October 2001 and 16 May 2002.  Aircrew members will accumulate one day's service for the first sortie flown of any day in the Area of Operation; additional sorties flown on the same day receive no further credit.  This requirement exists for support as well as combat aircraft; support aircraft includes tanker, airlift and surveillance platforms.


Medal Description

Members will wear the first NATO medal awarded, and will wear a bronze service star for any subsequent medal awarded for a different operation.  Subsequent deployments in support of the same operation will not be awarded.


Ribbon Description

Members are authorized to retain the ribbon clasp if presented; however the wearing of the ribbon clasp with the NATO Medal is not authorized for US military members.


Authorized Device

Bronze Service Star


Weighted Airman Promoted System Points: 0