Article Search

RSS Feed


Nomination window open for 2018 Zachary, Elizabeth Fisher Distinguished Civilian Humanitarian Award

  • Published
  • By Staff Sgt. Alexx Pons
  • Air Force’s Personnel Center Public Affairs
Air Force officials are seeking nominees for the 2018 Zachary and Elizabeth Fisher Distinguished Civilian Humanitarian Award.


Established in 1996 by the secretaries of the Army, Navy and Air Force, the award is named in honor of Zachary and Elizabeth Fisher, both of whom contributed extensively to the support and welfare of U.S. military members and their families.


The award is presented annually to an individual or organization outside the Department of Defense that has demonstrated exceptional patriotism, generosity and selfless dedication to members of the armed forces, or that have significantly enhanced the quality of life of military members or their families.


Each major command, combatant command, field operating agency and direct reporting unit may submit one nomination. Organizations and base-level personnel must contact their MAJCOM, COCOM, FOA or DRU for applicable suspense dates and nomination procedures. All nominations are due to the Air Force’s Personnel Center by March 16, 2018.


Specifics regarding the award are available via myPers from a CAC-enabled computer. Select “any” from the dropdown menu and search “Special Trophies and Awards.”


For more information about Air Force personnel programs, go to myPers. Individuals who do not have a myPers account can request one by following these instructions.


The appearance of external links on this site does not constitute official endorsement on behalf of the U.S. Air Force or Department of Defense.