Article Search

RSS Feed


AF names 2018 AFA Outstanding Civilians

  • Published
  • By Staff Sgt. Sahara L. Fales
  • Air Force’s Personnel Center Public Affairs
The Air Force recently announced the winners of the 2018 Air Force Association Outstanding Air Force Civilian Employee of the Year awards.


These awards recognize the outstanding achievements made by Air Force civilian appropriated fund employees. Nominations are evaluated on the nature of the achievement, development of techniques or procedures that significantly increased mission effectiveness and breadth of impact.


The four categories and winners are as follows:

  • Civilian Wage Employee of the Year - Mr. Larry J. Moore, 7th Equipment Maintenance Squadron, Dyess Air Force Base, Texas
  • Civilian Program Specialist (GS-1 through GS-11) - Ms. Michelle E. Capik, Air Force Life Cycle Management Center, Eglin AFB, Florida
  • Civilian Program Manager (GS-12 and GS-13) – Mr. James W. Samartino, 60th Logistics Readiness Squadron, Travis AFB, California
  • Civilian Senior Manager (GS-14 and GS-15) – Mr. Fredrick W. Fallman, 6th Mission Support Group, MacDill AFB, Florida

Nominations for the next year are due to the Air Force’s Personnel Center no later than Jan. 4, 2019. Organizations and base-level personnel should contact their respective major command, combatant command, field operating agency, direct reporting unit or MAJCOM/COCOM equivalent for applicable suspense dates and additional nomination procedures.


Eligibility procedures are available on MyPers. Select “Any” from the dropdown menu and search “Special Trophies and Awards.”


The appearance of external links on this site does not constitute official endorsement on behalf of the U.S. Air Force or Department of Defense.