An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Article Search

RSS Feed


2022 Nuclear Deterrence Operations, Missile Operations awards announced

  • Published
  • Secretary of the Air Force Public Affairs

The Department of the Air Force announced the 2022 Nuclear Deterrence Operations Awards and the Nuclear and Missile Operations Functional Award winners.

These awards recognize the outstanding accomplishments of Airmen contributing to nuclear deterrence operations and the missile operations career field respectively.

“The winners of the 2022 Nuclear Deterrence Operations Awards and the Nuclear and Missile Operations functional awards are recognized as top performers who have made significant contributions to nuclear deterrence operations,” said Assistant Deputy Chief of Staff, Strategic Deterrence and Nuclear Integration Michael R. Shoults. “These superstars deserve to be celebrated. We are extremely proud of their accomplishments.”

Shoults also praised winners of the General Thomas S. Power Award.

“We are particularly excited to recognize the General Thomas S. Power Award for best ICBM crew as an officially recognized Air Force-level award,” Shoults said. “The Power Award has a decades-long history of annually recognizing the most outstanding missile combat crews by the Air Force Association, and we’re proud that 1st. Lt. Jessica Fileas and 1st. Lt. Jacqueline Woods are the first crew to earn this prestigious recognition. Congratulations to the winners and all the total force Airmen who were nominated.”

These outstanding nuclear professionals were selected from a diverse field within the Air Force’s major commands, unified combatant commands and other agencies including the Air Force Reserve and Air National Guard.

2022 Nuclear Deterrence Operations Award winners are:
NDO Airman of the Year: Senior Airman Xenia T. Aspa
NDO Noncommissioned Officer of the Year: Tech. Sgt. Shawn E. Barrett
NDO Senior Noncommissioned Officer of the Year: Master Sgt. James A. Gillispie
NDO Company Grade Officer of the Year: Capt. Allison R. Ramos
NDO Field Grade Officer of the Year: Maj. Aaron J. Bonovitch
NDO Guardsman of the Year: Lt. Col. Jared P. Drake
NDO Reserve NCO of the Year: Tech. Sgt. Ethan A. Williams
NDO Reserve SNCO of the Year: Master Sgt. Rebecca A. Barton DeGrizio
NDO Reserve Officer of the Year: Lt. Col. Alycia M. Vrosh
NDO USAF 13N Cadet of the Year: Midshipman Sayanna Pillay
NDO Category I Civilian of the Year: Chastiti B. Ramirez
NDO Category II Civilian of the Year: Brent S. Dufault
NDO Category III Civilian of the Year: Aimee L. Dacus

Professional Team of the Year:  701st MUNSS Steadfast Noon Team
Tech. Sgt. Raymond Cage
Tech. Sgt. Brandon S. Dutton
Tech. Sgt. Alexander C. Hall
Tech. Sgt. Daniel S. Phelan
Tech. Sgt. Joseph D. Pinard
Tech. Sgt. Cameron Smith
Tech. Sgt. Braulio Torres
Staff Sgt. Mauricio J. Chavez
Staff Sgt. Ryan M. Conrad
Staff Sgt. Dirk A. Cox
Staff Sgt. Jerome M. Fernandez
Staff Sgt. Matthew E. Gish
Staff Sgt. Shawn D. Douglas
Staff Sgt. Chase M. Dupont
Staff Sgt. Matthew A. Esparra
Staff Sgt. Calvin M. Kelly
Staff Sgt. Jonathan W. Kearney
Staff Sgt. Jose L. Murrietta
Staff Sgt. Logan M. Perry
Staff Sgt. Philip J. Schaffer
Staff Sgt. Gerald L. Stagner
Staff Sgt. Diana M. Tesoriero
Staff Sgt. Justin J. Valles
Staff Sgt. William Volk
Staff Sgt. Haley M. Woodard
Senior Airman Tiffany I. Aubert
Senior Airman Jonathan G. Benge
Senior Airman Josias K. Bruce
Senior Airman Eric R. Bowers
Senior Airman Hunter J. Corcoran

2022 Nuclear and Missile Operations (13N) Award winners are:
Operator of the Year: First Lt. Dillon Berg
Company Grade Officer of the Year: Capt. Matej L. Osyka
Field Grade Officer of the Year: Maj. Matthew F. Ditson

General Thomas S. Power Award – Best ICBM Crew of the Year:
First Lt. Jessica A. Fileas
First Lt. Jacqueline M. Woods

Since 2014, the Nuclear Operations Awards Program has been administered and overseen by deputy chief of staff, Strategic Deterrence and Nuclear Integration, Headquarters U.S. Air Force.


The appearance of external links on this site does not constitute official endorsement on behalf of the U.S. Air Force or Department of Defense.