Article Search

RSS Feed


AF selects three captains for prestigious PhD program

  • Published
  • By Debbie Gildea
  • Air Force Personnel Center Public Affairs
Three Air Force captains have been selected for the 2015 Chief of Staff of the Air Force Captains Prestigious PhD Program, Air Force Personnel Center officials announced.

Selectees include Captains Matthew R. Hammerle, Air Mobility Command; Matthew C. Slack, Air Force Special Operations Command, and Chad A. Reger, Air Combat Command.

"The panel assessed applicants based on job performance and academic experience, and some truly outstanding officers applied. It was a very competitive group and selection was far from simple," said Staff Sgt. David Cannon, AFPC developmental education.

The purpose of the program is to develop a cadre of strategic thinkers who can be mentored and guided, Cannon said.

"Providing opportunities for intellectual development - coupled with other leadership programs - helps the Air Force prepare young officers to be strong joint leaders, able to communicate at a strategic level with civilian leaders across enterprises," said Cannon.

Officers selected for the program may pursue studies in history, political science, international relations, economics, philosophy, international business relations, international security studies, or political systems and theories.

For more information about the annual program and other personnel issues, go to the myPers website at Select "Search All Components" from the drop down menu and enter "CSAF Captains Prestigious PhD Program" in the search window.

The appearance of external links on this site does not constitute official endorsement on behalf of the U.S. Air Force or Department of Defense.