An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Article Search

RSS Feed


12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year nominations due April 2

  • Published
  • By Janis El Shabazz
  • Air Force Personnel Center Public Affairs
Nominations for the 2015 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year are due to the Air Force Personnel Center April 2.

There are three award categories: Airman, Noncommissioned Officer and Senior NCO. Major commands and the Air Force District of Washington may each nominate one candidate per category.

Nominations must include examples of leadership and job performance in the nominee's primary duty, significant self-improvement, and base or community involvement accomplished between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2014.

All nominees must be enlisted in the Air Force through Sept. 30, 2016. Nominees projected to separate prior to that date must extend or reenlist in the Air Force to remain eligible. Local military personnel section officials may approve or disapprove extensions for the purpose of the 12 OAY program.

Nominees who extend their enlistment for the 12 OAY program and who are not selected may cancel their extensions through their local MPS.

Organization and base-level personnel must contact their MAJCOM, field operating agency, direct-reporting unit or MAJCOM-equivalent for applicable suspense dates.

For more information about the Air Force awards program and other personnel issues, visit the myPers website at

The appearance of external links on this site does not constitute official endorsement on behalf of the U.S. Air Force or Department of Defense.