An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Article Search

RSS Feed


AFA names 2014 National Aerospace and Specialty Award winners

  • Published
  • By Janis El Shabazz
  • Air Force Personnel Center Public Affairs
Air Force Association officials have named the 2014 National Aerospace and Specialty Award winners.

The specific categories and winners are as follows:

David C. Schilling Award - most outstanding contribution to national defense in the field of manned flight:
-319th Special Operations Squadron, Hurlburt Field, Florida

Theodore Von Karman Award - most outstanding contribution in the field of science and engineering:
-Counter-Improvised Explosive Device Team, Hanscom Air Force Base, Massachusetts

Gill Robb Wilson Award - most outstanding contribution in the field of arts and letters:
-Maj. Bandon J. Lingle, Travis AFB, California

Citation of Honor - most outstanding contribution by an individual or organization to the development of aerospace power for the betterment of mankind:
-3rd Special Operations Squadron, Cannon AFB, New Mexico
-5th Combat Communications Group, Robins AFB, Georgia
-849th Aircraft Maintenance Squadron, Holloman AFB, New Mexico
-962nd Airborne Air Control Squadron, Joint-Base Elmendorf-Richardson, Alaska
-Intercontinental Ballistic Missile System Directorate, Hill AFB, Utah

For more information on Air Force recognition program and other personnel issues, visit the myPers website at


The appearance of external links on this site does not constitute official endorsement on behalf of the U.S. Air Force or Department of Defense.